top of page
  • Writer's pictureSMRITI DUTTA

Homemade Arepas|Recipe


Hey y'all, welcome to my website with another home made recipe.

Today we had homemade Arepas for dinner and I made these tasty, crispy, filling sandwiches after a long time. I learnt this recipe from a Venezuelan friend during my PhD days back in Portugal.


Arepas are basically a kind of sandwich made of ground maize (or corn) dough. It is a common cuisine of Colombia and Venezuela. You can bake, grill or fry the breads. I deep fried them since I like it that way.

 

Here's the recipe:


Ingredients:

For Dough:

Ground white corn powder. I used P.A.N corn flour.

Luke warm water

Salt to taste


For sandwich filling:

200 g chicken breast

Vegetables

Chilli flakes

Lemon

Fresh herbs (I used coriander, since that is what I had at home)

Salt and pepper


For frying Arepas:

Vegatable oil

Preparation- Dough:

Boil the chicken with some salt.

Cool it down and shred it using a fork.


On side, make a medium tight dough of the corn flour with luke warm water and some salt.


Make thick patty's of the dough and keep it aside.





Preparation - filling:

Chop vegetables in small cubes. I used carrots, zucchini, onions, garlic and tomatoes.


Heat 1 table spoon of olive oil in a pan and sauteed all the veggies.


Add chili flakes.


Add shredded chicken.


Add salt and pepper to taste.




















Frying Arepas

Use vegetable oil to deep fry Arepas in medium flame until they are well cooked and turns into golden brown in colour.


Use paper towel to dry the excess oil.





Using a knife, cut the patty like this.

Be careful, they can be very very hot.














Add the filling, squeeze some lemon juice and E.N.J.O.Y.


Thanks for reading. Hope you like it :)

Eat.Exercise.Explore :)


Love & Hugs,

Smriti

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page